Jazz Record Center

Duke Ellington Live In '58


Black & White
Region: 0
80 Mins.

Jazz Icons: Duke Ellington features the earliest-known filmed full-length concert by one of the 20th Century's greatest songwriters and bandleaders. Filmed at Amsterdam's famed Concertgebouw, this 80-minute concert features the 16-piece Duke Ellington Orchestra two years after their stunning performance at the 1956 Newport Jazz Festival, which Duke condidered his second birth. This epic performance includes legendary players Clark Terry, Johnny Hodges, Harry Carney, Paul Gonsalves, Quentin Jackson and Ray Nance performing some of the most beloved American music ever written.

Reeds: Johnny Hodges (Alto Sax); Russell Procope (Alto Sax, Clarinet); Paul Gonsalves (Tenor Sax); Jimmy Hamilton (Tenor Sax, Clarinet); Harry Carney (Baritone Sax, Clarinet, Bass Clarinet).

Trumpets: Cat Anderson; Harold “Shorty” Baker; Ray Nance (Trumpet, Violin, Vocal); Clark Terry.

Trombones: Quentin Jackson; John Sanders (Valve Trombone); Britt Woodman.

Rhythm section: Duke Ellington (Piano); Jimmy Woode (Bass); Sam Woodyard (Drums)

Ozzie Bailey (Vocal)

Add to Cart:

  • Model: ellingtonicons
  • DVD

Copyright © 2021 Jazz Record Center.