Jazz Record Center

Goodbyes and Other Messages - A Journal Of Jazz 1981-1990


295 pages
Oxford University Press

This book contains many of the shorter pieces that Balliett wrote for 'The New Yorker'. The pieces on Pianist Bill Evans and on the 1957 CBS television show, "The Sound Of Jazz', have never been published before. Balliett gives brilliant final summings up of many of the irreplaceable musicians who died in the eighties, among them Count Basie, Earl Hines, Thelonious Monk, Buddy Rich, Sarah Vaughan, and Cootie Williams. He also offers assessments of younger players such as Michael Petrucciani, Warren Vache, Howard Alden, and Wynton Marsalis.

Add to Cart:

  • Model: balliett1095
  • Whitney Balliett

Copyright © 2021 Jazz Record Center.