Jazz Record Center

Miles Davis Quintet, 1965-68, Studio Recordings


302 pgs.
Oxford University Press, Publ.

The influence of Miles Davis's "second great quintet" of the mid-1960s continues to resonate, due to the group's improvisational communication, openness, and effortless negotiation between hard bop and the emerging free jazz of the 1960s. Waters provides a detailed view of six different recordings--"E.S.P.", "Miles Smiles", "Sorcerer", "Nefertiti", "Miles in the Sky", and "Filles de Kilimanjaro". He takes into account contemporary reviews of the recordings, interviews with the five musicians, and detailed transcriptions, as well as two previously unexplored sources: the studio outtakes and Wayne Shorter's Library of Congress composition deposits.

Add to Cart:

  • Model: milesdaviswaters

Copyright © 2024 Jazz Record Center.